Preserving Heritage and Adapting for Modern Use

The existing structure was strengthened and restored keeping in mind new requirements of the user. The original building was completed in 1881. John Adams was the architect for the for the club premises. In 1976 due to structural reasons about one third of the existing building was demolished and R.C.C. interventions introduced.

Somaya Sampat was appointed to restore the old existing building and reconstruct the demolished section. Once a retreat for the city's resident Europeans, the Old Yacht Club is today a hub for the Department of Atomic Energy.

CLIENT Department of Atomic Energy
BUILT-UP AREA 69,930 sq. ft.
LOCATION Mumbai, Maharashtra
SITE AREA NA
YEAR OF COMPLETION 2007

Related Insights

Related News